## Minutes of the Acequia del Caño Biannual Meeting Dec. 6, 2011

President Jim Rogers called the meeting to order at 7:10 p.m. at the Nambé headstart building.

## Present were:

Ramos Archuleta, Luana Berger, Jack Blum, Deborah Day and Peter Buehner, Gediminas Cibas, John Gutting, Nick Herrera, Phil Loomis, Bruce Lewis, Meade Martin, Tim Merrigan, Frank DeMolli representing Pojoaque Pueblo, Paul Montoya, Jim Rogers, Pete Romero, Robert Salazar. Representing a total of 101 votes, 49 in person and 52 by proxy, 29 votes were not represented.

A record of the proxies is on file with the secretary.

There being a quorum of all the commission members, the meeting began. The agenda was approved without any changes or additions.

Secretary Martin read the minutes from the special meeting held 12/14/10. The minutes were moved by Jim Rogers, Seconded by Tim Merrigan and approved unanimously.

Treasurer Merrigan presented the treasurers report (attached).

Meade presented a slide show of pictures from the past seasons projects, Phase I pipeline construction, concrete repairs to the sand trap, brush removal, inspection access gate at Darren Ortiz' western fence across the Acequia easement.

Jim Rogers offered observations, remarks and suggestions for the future proceedings of the Acequia. He said that in the past term more was accomplished than in his preceding four terms. He offered his thanks for all the support received from Jack Blum, Meade Martin and other members.

The meeting for the election was called to order. 101 votes were represented in person and by proxy. President Rogers called for nominations for the office of president. Edwin Ortiz nominated Bruce Lewis. Pete

Romero seconded the nomination. There were no other candidates nominated and Ramos Archuleta moved that nominations cease and that Bruce be elected by acclamation. All members responded with an ay! There were no nays. Bruce Lewis was elected Commission President.

Jim Rogers said that the other officers of the Acequia were willing to stand for reelection and if there were no other nominations, he requested a motion to elect them. Luana Berger moved that Jack Blum, Mayordomo, Tim Merrigan, Treasurer, and Meade Martin Secretary, be elected by acclimation. John Gutting seconded the motion. President Rogers called for the vote and the motion carried. There were no nays.

Jim Rogers admonished the newly elected commission to work diligently to reconcile the Acequia's roster and water rights records. The pending Aamodt Settlement could have many potentially negative impacts on the Acequia and its member's water rights. Many members present expressed their gratitude for Jim's dedicated service of more than ten years as an Acequia officer.

Meade Martin passed out a draft maintenance project list with estimated costs for the coming irrigation season.

The meeting adjourned at 8:10 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by Meade Martin